Sunday, February 8, 2015

My soon to be published Upcoming Reads and Reviews...

Here is just a quick post to give you an idea of what I will be reading and reviewing in the next few months. Nothing too heavy in subject matter just fun reads. I hope you will check them out for yourself and look for upcoming reviews as well.  

The UK release of, 'The Girl in the Photograph' by Kate Riordan is already published. If any of my UK followers and friends have already read it, please comment below and let me know your thoughts. It will soon be published in the U.S. under a different title, 'Fiercombe Manor' on March 17th, 2015.  The cover is equally as pretty. 

The Girl in the Photograph is a haunting and atmospheric novel that tells the tales of women in two different eras – the 1890’s and 1930’s – and how their lives seem to be entwined by fate. Kate Riordan’s novel is a beautifully dark and beguiling tale which will sweep you away. It will appeal to fans of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca.

In the summer of 1933, Alice Eveleigh has arrived at Fiercombe Manor in disgrace. The beautiful house becomes her sanctuary, a place to hide her shame from society in the care of the housekeeper, Mrs Jelphs. But the manor also becomes a place of suspicion, one of secrecy.

Something isn't right.

Someone is watching.

There are secrets that the manor house seems determined to keep. Tragedy haunts the empty rooms and foreboding hangs heavy in the stifling heat. Traces of the previous occupant, Elizabeth Stanton, are everywhere and soon Alice discovers Elizabeth's life eerily mirrors the path she herself is on.


Paperback, 448 pages
Published January 15th 2015 by Penguin Books
ISBN
1405917423 (ISBN13: 9781405917421)
 
The U.S. Cover and Details:  
I'm getting two different release dates for, 'Fiercombe Manor' February 17, 2015 and March 17, 2015. The latter date might be a mistake. I will keep you posted just in case.
  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Harper (February 17, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062332945
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062332943 
 My second choice is a favorite author of mine, Susanna Kearsley. She has used Scotland as part of her storyline again and I cannot wait to read this one! I was lucky enough to get an ARC - review copy, so I can read it before publication date. My review should post on publication date.

For nearly 300 years, the mysterious journal of Jacobite exile Mary Dundas has lain unread — its secrets safe from prying eyes. Now, amateur codebreaker Sara Thomas has been hired by a once-famous historian to crack the journal's cipher. But when she arrives in Paris, Sara finds herself besieged by complications from all sides: the journal's reclusive owner, her charming Parisian neighbor, and Mary, whose journal doesn't hold the secrets Sara expects.

It turns out that Mary Dundas wasn’t keeping a record of everyday life, but a first-hand account of her part in a dangerous intrigue. In the first wintry months of 1732, with a scandal gaining steam in London, driving many into bankruptcy and ruin, the man accused of being at its center is concealed among the Jacobites in Paris, with Mary posing as his sister to aid his disguise.

When their location is betrayed, they’re forced to put a desperate plan in action, heading south along the road to Rome, protected by the enigmatic Highlander Hugh MacPherson.

As Mary's tale grows more and more dire, Sara, too, must carefully choose which turning to take... to find the road that will lead her safely home.
 
Paperback, 528 pages
Expected publication: April 7th 2015 by Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN
1492602027 (ISBN13: 9781492602026)
 
 
 

2 comments:

Hels said...

ahhh Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca. I hadn't thought about that book for ages. Then I had another look at her little bit of Cornwall. Loved it as a teenager... and would still now.

Kimberly Eve said...

Hi Hels,
Yes, an interesting comparison. I'm really excited to read this novel. Hopefully, the Gothic elements work out well to capture any essence of Du Maurier's magical, 'Rebecca'. Yes, Cornwall is such a special place.
Thanks so much for commenting and visiting.

Lincoln In The Bardo by George Saunders: A Review!

On February 22, 1862, two days after his death, Willie Lincoln was laid to rest in a marble crypt in a Georgetown cemetery. That very nigh...